Sometimes we’re just to busy to take care of ourselves, so indulge me in the little diversion.  About 6 months ago, finally got around to my (overdue) annual check up, and three months ago got around to (also overdue) mammogram. I felt that the Chair of Brides Against Breast Cancer had at least better practice some of what is preached.  Getting an “all clear” from those was reassuring, but I had also made a dermatology appointment to have a mole checked. It didn’t have significant “changes,” but was bordering on the “A-B-C-D” criteria. While my family practicioner didn’t seemed too concerned, and frankly, neither did the dermatologist, I was contacted with the diagnosis of early melanoma – what a shock.  I was surprised to learn that  each year, more than 50,000 people in the U.S. learn that they have melanoma, the most serious type of skin cancer.  Early detection is the key. Once it spreads, treatment is much more complex, and melanoma can be fatal. So I’m now proudly sporting a 3″ scar on my left upper arm, but no further treatment is necessary. For more information, visit www.melanoma.com, but if you have that questionable mole, have it checked.  ~ Elise

