What do wedding consultants do when they aren’t planning weddings? Most of us plan or work other events. My “niche” is teaching event management at UCF Rosen College of Hospitality Management, where I’ve (whew) helped 4 classes of event management students plan and execute 8 events this spring semester. While I like to think they learn something from me, I often learn from them as well. Here’s a couple of pictures from UCF Rosen’s end-of semester party with a Vegas theme.


One of the “neat ideas” that worked with this theme, but could work for you too was crudite “shooters” from Big City Catering. Fun Planners provided the gaming equipment and staff.
And what does a wedding planner do with all those wedding leftovers? Re-use them, of course. I invited students to “clean out” my storage unit, and they collected leftovers from other weddings and events to create their intentionally “tacky” version of a “Little White Wedding Chapel,” complete with an Elvis impersonator for photos.

